Redrawing the New York-Comics Relationship

Subjective Ramblings and Peripheral Thoughts from the Edges of a Comics Studies Project

Redrawing the New York-Comics Relationship

My name is Martin Lund. I hold a Ph.D. in Jewish studies from Lund University in Lund, Sweden. My thesis, Rethinking the Jewish–Comics Connection, was a study of configurations of identity in American mainstream comics by Jewish writers and a critical dialogue with the extant literature on the subject. I have published articles and reviews in academic and popular science journals on a range of subjects.

My main research interests are religion and comics, the representation of race and ethnicity in popular culture, and the role that the specific ethno-racial and socio-political conditions of geographical place play in textual production. I am currently working on a number of articles and preparing a research project about comics and New York City. I will publish occasional musings from my continued engagement with the topic of religion and comics on another blog.

My project about New York and comics is designed to critically engage with the common claim that there is a special relationship between comics and the city. This blog is dedicated to my progress on the road to a critical understanding of the cultural meaning of New York’s multifaceted representation in comics. In the days ahead, as time permits, I will publish reviews of comics and books that in some significant way include New York City, news items and noteworthy publications on the topic, and analysis, criticism, and commentary on a wide variety of New York–comics subjects. Initially, topics will be taken from my “to-write” list and project bibliography.

But the future is never certain. Neither comics nor New York are static, and their direction in days to come will dictate what direction the blog takes. The headlong rush into the future, of course, includes the reader. I am not writing in a vacuum and I do not aim to scream into a void; therefore, I welcome suggestions for topics and questions from readers who want to know more about a particular comic or topic. Requests, queries, and suggestions should be sent to p . m a r t i n . l u n d @ g m a i l . c o m

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 23, 2013 by in Uncategorized.

Navigation

